Home / Home & Kitchen / Dehumidifiers / Soleus Air DP1-70-03 70 Pint Dehumidifier Review

Soleus Air DP1-70-03 70 Pint Dehumidifier Review

The Soleus Air DP1-70-03 70 Pint Dehumidifier is a small dehumidifier that packs one heck of a punch. Operating at 850W, this small dehumidifier uses a fair amount of energy but can provide results to rival the very best dehumidifiers for the home.

Don’t let its size deceive you – the Soleus Air DP1-70-03 is ideal for the more demanding moisture removal jobs, such as damp wood, mould, bacteria and all the nasty consequences of having too much moisture in the air.

Being a 70 pint dehumidifier, the Soleus Air DP1-70-03 can’t be expected to be the smallest dehumidifier on the market, weighing in at nearly 50 lbs, but pound for pound, it represents excellent value, provided you know where to put it and can transport it to where you want it without damage.

The Soleus Air DP1-70-03 Small Dehumidifier 70 Pint has:

  • 70 pint per day moisture removal capacity
  • continuous or timer mode, fully programmable on humidistat
  • 3x fan speed settings
  • wheels to enable damage-free moving around the house
  • 1 year warranty

The Soleus Air DP1-70-03 70 Pint Dehumidifier is currently unavailable. It may be out of production. The manufacturer (Soleus Air) may or may not be releasing an updated model, however if this does happen we will review the new model as soon as possible.

For a small dehumidifier the Soleus Air DP1-70-03 definitely has quite a lot of power as many customers have rightly observed that it can comfortably dehumidify rooms of up to 1500-2000 square feet. Most people would buy a 70 pint dehumidifier for rather demanding jobs, whether it be that old basement that would never quite get dry or your particularly large hallway in a Florida summer – the Soleus Air DP1-70-03 is definitely up to the challenge. I see it as quite a pity that it appears to have been discontinued (though no official word on that – it’s just not available from many of the major retailers). Thankfully, the vast majority of customers are not reporting any breakdowns, and the shipping quality has been praised, an often overlooked factor as to whether or not you will have problems on arrival – a careless drop from the shipping company and appliances such as a small dehumidifier can be ruined. So, although you can’t buy this from amazon anymore, at least Soleus Air items are actually being treated with a lot more care now, it seems.

Unfortunately due to the unavailability of this particular model, I was unable to test this dehumidifier out for myself. Therefore anything I write is based on what reviewers on amazon and consumer reports, as well as various internet forums, are saying, and not from my own personal experience.

From some of the DP1-70-03 Dehumidifier reviews I am seeing online, please note some very critical points that some astute customers have noticed: Although the Soleus Air DP1-70-03 may be a 70 pint dehumidifier in the strictest sense, that only applies under ideal conditions, which is around 68 degrees Fahrenheit. I would imagine, any higher and the air is too hot, any lower and the difference between hot and cold isn’t enough, so a happy medium is where maximum yield is achieved. In addition, the bucket size, as with pretty much all small dehumidifiers, I am beginning to notice, is far too small relative to its daily capacity. 70 pints is over 8 gallons, but the bucket is less than a third of that volume. This means that unless you like to haul buckets in and out, you are going to have to use the constant function and attach a hose leading to a drain. Finally, there is no indication as to how large an area this small dehumidifier can cover. If it is a 70 pint dehumidifier I am guessing around 1500-2000 maximum, as seems to be confirmed by reviewers, but it would be nice for the manufacturer to give us exact details as per their trials, as they surely would know more about the product than we do. Finally, due to the fact that this product has been discontinued, I cannot confirm either way whether this is the best dehumidifier in its class or not, or even what calibre the DP1-70-03 is, without testing it first myself.

The Soleus Air DP1-70-03 Small Dehumidifier 70 Pint may have been discontinued, though it is not currently possible for us to confirm either way. It is not available from major online retailers such as Amazon. However, there are better alternatives available for a 70 pint dehumidifier which may be considered.

Sale
70-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
3 Reviews
70-Pint Portable Dehumidifier
  • Portable dehumidifier removes up to 70 pints of moisture per 24 hours
  • MyHome Mode offers preprogrammed humidity levels for basement, living and sleeping spaces
  • Continuous Mode with garden hose connector offers continuous low-level drainage (garden hose NOT included)
  • Digital humidistat displays set humidity level and current room humidity level
  • 3-speed fan circulates air at speeds of low, medium and high

Last update on 2017-04-02 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Check Also

Frigidaire FAD704TDP 70-Pint Capacity Dehumidifier Review

There is a clear winner in the best “no-noise” dehumidifier category. The Frigidaire FAD704TDP 70-Pint …

Leave a Reply