Home / Home & Kitchen / Dehumidifiers / Soleus Air 30 Pint Portable Dehumidifier Review

Soleus Air 30 Pint Portable Dehumidifier Review

Made by one of the leaders in dehumidifier technology, the Soleus Air DP1-30-03 Portable Dehumidifier possesses a wide range of features which together make removing moisture from the air a quick, easy and painless task.

Boasting a lightweight design, handles and wheels, the Soleus Air DP1-30-03 Portable Dehumidifier is just as easy to move around the house as it is to operate, and its very high energy efficiency is recognised by the US govt as meeting stringent criteria for Energy Star certification.

This powerful yet very portable 30 pint dehumidifier is covered by a 1 year limited warranty for added protection and peace of mind.

The Soleus Air DP1-30-03 Portable Dehumidifier has:

  • 30 pint dehumidifier capacity
  • 3-speed fan for temperature control flexibility
  • ability to work at temperatures as low as 41 degrees Fahrenheit
  • user-defined settings via the digital interface and humidistat
  • indicator lights for full bucket as well as clogged filter
  • wheels and handles for easy movement

Although as a 30 pint dehumidifier, it has a per day volume on the lower end of those dehumidifiers reviewed on this website, I have included the Soleus Air DP1-30-03 because it is nonetheless a top quality dehumidifier which is most suited to people who value mobility above all else. This truly is the best dehumidifier I’ve seen with respect to portability, with handles and wheels to ensure smooth transition from place to place, so while others are struggling with moving their dehumidifiers about the house – and possibly damaging the unit in the process – owners of the DP1-30-03 Portable Dehumidifier will have few problems with quick and easy relocation. Also, unlike many dehumidifiers, the DP1-30-03 30 Pint Dehumidifier is actually Energy Star compliant, which is not just a fancy gimmick – compliance with these strict energy efficiency regulations as set out on the federal level means that the impact of this portable dehumidifier on your energy bill will be barely noticeable.

While there has been a lot of popularity in favor of Soleus Air’s 40 pint per day cousin of the DP1-30-03, that unit was not without its controversy, for although there were hundreds of excellent dehumidifier reviews for that unit, around 30 percent of that amount had bad things to say about it. And so, we are left wondering: is the DP1-30-03 Portable Dehumidifier similar to its cousin in that respect, or will it be more reliable and live up to the revered Soleus Air name?

Fortunately, it seems that the DP1-30-03 30 Pint Dehumidifier is a lot more reliable and long lasting than its (now apparently distant) cousin. It’s definitely the best dehumidifier with a maximum moisture removal of 30 pints per day. I can only speculate that the increased reliability might be because of its additional portability and hence, decreased likelihood of in transit damage, or perhaps even the shipping method, in terms of both the carrier and the packaging, since this unit is shipped from a different vendor than the DP1-30-03′s cousin. At the end of the day, no one knows; all that matters is that customers are pleased with the relatively long lasting quality of this portable dehumidifier, possibly the most important aspect of all in your decision. From both my own tests and the reviews available on amazon and consumer reports, I can attest to the power of this unit, which would comfortably suck the air dry in a space up to around 750 square feet. The fact that if the power cuts out, the settings do not stay as previously programmed, is because it doesn’t allow itself to turn back on in the event of power outage. This is actually an advantage since many dehumidifiers are being broken by the surge of current after a power outage, so we must see this as a plus although one or two customers are complaining about it. I would prefer a working unit over a frazzled one any day! I know most people wouldn’t mind reprogramming it every once in a while; the interface is so simple that it’s no bother.

Now, it’s not all positive. While Soleus Air is claiming that this is a 30 pint dehumidifier, why is the tank so small? My opinion is that it does remove 30 pints per day, but they just haven’t made the bucket big enough, so you have to keep changing it quite often. Really, the only option for me was to put my hose in and let it drain out so that I could have it on constantly. Otherwise I would have been carrying buckets and buckets all week – who knew that so much water could be in the air, eh? This may be the most significant portable dehumidifier out there that can actually work, but with power comes a certain amount of weight, nonetheless. It’s portable, true, but I would be lying if I called it light. At around 30 pounds, it’s like a medium sized suitcase. An average guy can carry it, but it’s not a walk in the park. Finally, this portable dehumidifier may be more reliable than its 40 pint cousin, with a pretty darn good 4.0/5 star average rating, but it is not without its breakdowns. One or two after 2 years, one or two after 1 year – you get the picture. It’s not all rosy, but certainly better than average when you take a look at the ‘dropout’ rate of dehumidifiers as a whole. Last but not least, one vital bit of information you need to know – I ran this for about a week 24/7, and my electricity bill went up just shy of $1 over the average for the month. I monitor my bills well so I’m pretty accurate. So $1 x 4 for the month (rather than the week I ran it for) and you will get around 4 bucks per month as a cost to run this 24/7, variations depending on your energy supplier. It’s not cheap, but not too expensive either.

Soleus #TDA30   Air Dehumidifier, 30-Pint
30 Reviews
Soleus #TDA30 Air Dehumidifier, 30-Pint
  • Portable dehumidifier removes up to 30 pints of moisture per 24 hours
  • My home mode offers preprogrammed humidity levels for basement, living and sleeping spaces
  • Continuous mode with garden hose Connector offers continuous low-level drainage (garden hose not included)
  • Digital humidistat displays set humidity level and current room humidity level
  • Automatic shut-off with bucket Full indicator and alarm (8.5-Pint bucket capacity)

Last update on 2017-03-24 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Check Also

Safety Measures for Your Dehumidifier

As we very well know, dehumidifiers are electrical appliances, and they collect water. So it …

Leave a Reply